Work status:

  • Originally titled "Old Man (John Doe)"
  • First copyright date: 1962-05-07
  • The lyrics for this song were part of the "MacKenzie papers".
  • This is one of the songs Bob Dylan listed in 1962 as his 'repertoire'. It has been suggested that this list was either a potential album tracklist, if he'd had a record deal at the time, or else a list of the songs to be played for John Hammond at an informal audition on or about 1962-09-10:

                 1. Dope Fiend Robber
                 2. Talking Bear Mt. (later retitled "Talking Bear Mountain Picnic Massacre Blues")
                 3. Ramblin’ Gamblin’ Blues
                 4. Over the Road I’m Bound To Go (later retitled "Sally Gal")
                 5. California Brown Eyed Baby
                 6. I Hear a Train A'Rolling
                 7. Rocking Chair
                      * An earlier version of the list shows B.U.P. instead of Rocking Chair.
                 8. Old Man (John Doe) (later retitled "Man on the Street")
                 9. Get Where I’m Going (aka I’ll Get Where I’m Going Some Day)
                 10. Woody’s Song (later retitled "Song to Woody")
                 11. Talking New York Town (later retitled "Talkin' New York")
                 12. Great Chicagonian

Annotation last modified on 2012-01-08 04:12 UTC.


composer: Bob Dylan (1961)
lyricist: Bob Dylan (1961)
publisher: Songs of Universal, Inc.
Universal MCA Music Publishing (US film music publisher)


Date Title Attributes Artist Length
Man on the Street (1962-01-xx: Leeds Music studio session) Bob Dylan ?:??
Man on the Street live Bob Dylan 2:27
Man on the Street Bob Dylan 1:35
Man on the Street Bob Dylan 1:30
Man on the Street Bob Dylan ?:??
Man on the Street (1961-11-04: Carnegie Chapter Hall, New York City, NY, USA) live Bob Dylan 2:53
Man on the Street live Bob Dylan 2:28
Man on the Street Bob Dylan 1:56
Man on the Street (fragment) partial Bob Dylan 1:07