One of four 12" 78 rpm vinyl records (with publishing numbers 11878 Victor, 11879 Victor, 11880 Victor and 11881 Victor) – and the very first release of Summertime

These Highlights from Porgy and Bess were recorded just days after the show opened on Broadway on October 10, 1935. While the opera was performed by an all-African American singing cast, including Todd Duncan and Anne Brown, the 1935 records replaced them with white opera singers Lawrence Tibbett and Helen Jepson. (The Original 1935 Broadway Cast will be recorded only five years later, in 1940, and released on Decca)

Annotation last modified on 2009-05-24 01:30 UTC.


Vinyl 1
# Title Rating Length
1 Lullaby ("Summertime and the Livin' Is Easy")
2 My Man's Gone Now


Vinyl 1

George Gershwin (composer) (tracks 1–2)
Ira Gershwin (tracks 1–2)
DuBose Heyward (tracks 1–2)
Chappell & Co. (track 1)
Warner/Chappell (track 1)
Ira Gershwin Music (1935) (track 1)
WB Music Corp. (ASCAP) (1935) (track 1)
Summertime (catch-all for arrangements) (track 1)
is based on:
is the basis for:
Doin’ Time (track 1)
Summertime (Rick Wakeman arrangement) (track 1)
The Bones of You (track 1)
later translated parody versions:
Tschibuti (track 1)
later translated versions:
C'est l'été (track 1)
Sommartid (track 1)
Summa is (track 1)
part of:
recording of:
My Man’s Gone Now (aria from Porgy and Bess, use this for non-opera or instrumental recordings) (track 2)
Summertime (American songbook standard from 1935 opera Porgy and Bess) (track 1)
referred to in medleys: